Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#52679 - 07/11/02 04:09 PM Semester in Spain: CultureShock?
Kaella Offline

Loc: Providence, RI
I've been spending alot of time on this forum because I'm spending the next semester studying in Spain. I'm worried about culture shock. What should I prepare to be shocked about? You guys always have the best advice! smile

#52680 - 07/11/02 10:18 PM Re: Semester in Spain: CultureShock?
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
Now this is a situation I can relate to!!!!!
I am currently studying abroad in Spain, (Bilbao, Universidad de Deusto). I got here in the first week of May, and will return to the states mid august. This has been the best experience of my entire life, I am already trying to plan to go back and study at La Universidad de Deusto again for either a semester, or entire year rolleyes I love it here, and I am sure your experience will be equally great smile So what sorts of things should you be ready for? I really did not experience any MAJOR shocks adjusting to life here, maybe I owe that to the wonderful advice and help I got from this message board before leaving for this adventure! There were a few little things I had to adjust to, but now these things dont bother me, and there are many aspects of spanish culture that I will miss when I leave for the USA in August (ex- concept of time...it is 4am here right now and I just have not felt like going to bed yet and with no class tomm, why not stay up all night? hehe).
Anyways, realize before you go that the first week or two will probably be a little "rough".
Some things I was worried about before I left...
-Food- spanish food is awesome!! Although there are some things that I can do without (por ejemplo- sardines baby eels!!) But there are many other foods that I love (magdalenas, tortialla española, natillas, the wine, the list is endless). Try everything!!!