Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#44659 - 05/31/04 02:54 PM Study in Spain for a year or a semester?
AshleyAshley Offline

I'm considering studying abroad in Madrid or Buenos Aires during my junior year of undergrad. My major in Spanish Langauge, and I can't decide whether to go for an academic year or a semester...anyone have any insight?

#44660 - 05/31/04 04:05 PM Re: Study in Spain for a year or a semester?
Chica Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid
If you can swing it definitely do the year. The first 5-6 months spend getting adapted to your new environment and adjusting to the language. The second half of the year is when you really put into practice what you studied during the first few months.

I studied abroad my junior year in college and while a year seemed to be an awfully long time to be away (at the time), it was the best decision that I ever made. I saw some students returning to the States after 5-6 months regretting that they did not opt for the full year.

#44661 - 06/01/04 09:57 AM Re: Study in Spain for a year or a semester?
Jana Offline

Loc: Tucson
Definitely go for the year. When I was searching for a study abroad program, I only looked at one year programs and it was the best decision for me. By the end of the first semester, you are just starting to make good friends and feel like you belong. Not to mention that your Spanish will improve a lot with the extra time. My best advice: Find a Spanish lover and speak only Spanish!!

#44662 - 06/01/04 12:50 PM Re: Study in Spain for a year or a semester?
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas