Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#44418 - 10/22/03 12:15 AM Spanish-English Dictionary to buy in Spain
Rissa Offline

Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia
I'm currently studying intermediate level Spanish in Andalucia but will be in Madrid in 2 weeks. I'm not finding what I need in the Spanish-English dictionaries that I brought with me from the States. Can you recommend a good dictionary to buy here? Any ideas on where to find it? Thanks.
Marissa

#44419 - 10/22/03 08:26 AM Re: Spanish-English Dictionary to buy in Spain
willson Offline

Loc: Almería
At the intermediate level I switched to mostly using a Spanish-Spanish dictionary and found it quite an improvement over using a translation-dictionary. That is, I bought a compact regular Spanish dictionary thgat gave me the definitions of the word instead of the translation. I know enough Spanish to understand the translation usually and often learn something in the process.
Not good for going English -> Spanish though.

Mine is Micro Lengua Española from Vox ( www.vox.es ) bought at El Corte Inglés.

My small English <-> Spanish is Berlitz and I find it adequate...when used along with my Barnes & Noble 200 Spanish Verbs conjugator (which actually covers 2000 verbs, not 200).

#44420 - 10/22/03 10:14 PM Re: Spanish-English Dictionary to buy in Spain
Rissa Offline

Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia
Thanks Wilson for your help. I'll look for your dictionary in El Corte Ingles in Cadiz. I already have the B&N verb book and it is great.

#44421 - 10/22/03 11:58 PM Re: Spanish-English Dictionary to buy in Spain
el viajero Offline

The best I've seen is the full-sized hardback Collins dictionary, available in the U.S., Spain, Britain and elsewhere. Its breakout of different uses and contexts for different words, and its coverage of national variants is phenomenal.