Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#43595 - 03/13/02 09:01 PM Re: bringing castellano home
ebetancourt Offline

Loc: Tennessee
The problem the original question addressed is Tex Mex. Many years ago I was an instructor at the US Air Force helicopter school in Wichita Falls, TX. I learned "español" in Key West, FL my hometown. One session we had two students from Mexico and one from Ecuador. I was tutoring all three in instrument flying in Spanish. I got to know them fairly well, and one day I asked one why I could understand him. but couldn't understand the local language. His reply -- "Mi capitan, yo tampoco." Me either!
Go for Spain.

#43596 - 03/14/02 01:22 PM Re: bringing castellano home
Cooter Offline

Loc: Boston, MA USA
Agree with a lot of the posts above. The important thing is to have a good basis in structure and general vocab. of the language and, later, supplement that with the slang/colloquialisms/specific vocabulary of the region or linguistic community with whom you will interacting. Where your patients are from and education level will have a lot to do with what kind of Spanish they speak. There are actually books and classes on Spanglish and even pachuco/calo if you are interested.

Do drop the "lisp," though, as it has a tendency to sound pretentious to Latin American ears when used by a non-Spaniard.

#43597 - 03/14/02 03:22 PM Re: bringing castellano home
taravb Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Ames, Iowa, USA