Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#42686 - 08/09/07 06:42 AM Madrid - Job Prospects
Jeananne10 Offline

Loc: Madrid
Dear All
Firstly, Im new to the board and this is my first post. Im a 25 year old Irish female, living and working in the UK for the past 3 years.
Im looking to move to Madrid sometime between November and February with my Other Half. I lived in Alicante a few years ago and taught English privately to children in their own homes. I would ideally like to continue teaching but find it much easier on a one to one basis. Is it realistic to think I will be able to earn a living (first few months supplemented by savings) doing this again? I currently work as a Marketing Coordinator in a large law firm in England and have plenty of skills (although my Spanish is only at conversational level) such as extensive experience using many different up to date computer packages, almost a year working in Events organisation, 3 years as legal secretary and Im TEFL certified. I am also almost qualified as a proof reader. I have also spent quite a lot of time taking care of children and spent a year in New York as an au pair. Im looking for advice from those of you already living in Madrid and what type of work is available. Im happy to take a job anywhere to begin with - perhaps until my Spanish improves. What do you think? I would also like to live in the outskirts of the city as I enjoy spending my time at home outdoors in the garden. Can you please recommend some areas within 1 hrs distance to the centre.
Many thanks in advance
Jean

#42687 - 08/10/07 01:58 PM Re: Madrid - Job Prospects
filbert Offline
Executive Member

Loc: London
Hi Jean,