Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#41832 - 06/02/04 02:19 AM To Spain, or not to Spain?
GueritaLes Offline

Loc: Texas
Hey, Everyone!
I have followed the posts on this website for the last few months, (while doing "moving to Spain" research,) but just signed up and got all official tonight-- even 'legal,' you might say; hehe... don't think I didn't catch THAT whole shebang!

Ready for the part where I sound like about 500 other posts? Here goes: I've been a bilingual teacher here in the States for 3 years and am looking to move to Madrid some time around August. I LOVE Spain-- majored in Spanish in college, visited there, (as well as lots of other fun places), several times, and feel up to a great adventure via moving there for a year or two. I am single, no kids, nothing to really tie me down as of yet, so I feel like it's the best time to do this thing.

The problem is (cue pitiful sounding violin music) that I have become THOROUGHLY frustrated, confused, and scared the more research that I do. I have countless job websites that I search daily, I've sent my resume to anyone who even mentions the words "English teacher in Spain," and I have honest to God nightmares about what the heck I'm doing with myself! Little has come out of my job searches, which I find unbelievable being as I am both bilingual and experienced, (although not a EU citizen :p )!

My family and some friends are really discouraging about the whole prospect of me moving to Madrid. Their main concern is safety, but also that I will be incredibly bored over there.....which I hadn't worried about too much until I read 'Monito's' NUMEROUS horror postings.

So.......instead of rambling on and on, my research-numbed mind has feebly comprised a few questions I have for any of you knowledgable folks out there. Feel free to answer any or all of them, (or none if you're a heartless S.O.B...hehe):