Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#40401 - 01/18/01 12:04 PM I work in Spain......
Anchovy Front Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Southern Spain
This is basically a reply to a question posed by Nosy Jen (Sorry Jen, just kidding!) under the title “De Donde Eres” in General Chatter. I thought I would post it here, as I have lived in Spain for nearly fifteen years and during that time I have worked illegally (I thought my employers had the paperwork in hand!) and been fined (my employers paid the fine of 500.000 Pts in 1986, no small sum then!) and threatened with deportation for doing so. I worked as an employee for that company, I have drawn unemployment benefit (115.000 Pts a month in 1992 - again no small sum!) and also I have worked on a self employed basis. So I suppose that I know a bit about the system here and hopefully will be able to answer any questions that anybody who is thinking of employment may have.

Having said all that, bear in mind that I am British and as a member of the EU life is so much easier for us now, with regards to the bureaucracy of my adopted country! For non-EU nationals I am sure it is still a struggle, but I may be off the mark there and someone can say otherwise?

To directly answer your question, Jen (and I bet you wish you hadn’t asked now!) I sold houses for 7 years, a couple of years "between jobs" as they say, when I drew the benefit THEN worked in a bar when it dried up - not at the same time, I have to say!

For the last 7 years I've been in a general insurance agency, with mainly expatriates for a clientbase, selling motor, household, marine etc (coincidentally, someone mentioned Sanitas medical insurance a day or two ago, we sell that, too........ I’m not advertising MadridMan, honest!).