Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#39999 - 05/08/00 11:32 PM jobs in Madrid
sullivanj9 Offline

Loc: Monterey, CA USA
I was just wondering if you had any insight/contact information about jobs in Madrid other than teaching English for a fellow Yankee. I lived in Madrid for 2+ years after attending La Complutense. I am a graduate student now studying International Policy Studies, and want to get back to Madrid desperately. I feel like I have exhausted the Internet research options,(mostly internships that you pay for) and wanted some personal advice from an American ex-pat.(for example is your web site doing so well now that you are hiring help?) I know Madrid extremely well and am fluent in Spanish. Any advice would be appreciated.

hasta pronto,

Jackie

#40000 - 05/09/00 05:27 AM Re: jobs in Madrid
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
Hi sullivanj9!

The absolute BEST resource on 'net for expats working in Spain would be "The Expat Café" by Tracy Moral. This woman is a wealth of information. You can view her website @ http://members.home.net/tracy.moral/ . It includes info on how to get work, teaching English in Spain, the visas/work permits necessary to work in Spain, and other useful things.

Tracy has also recently been "drafted" as an eDreams Madrid guide (see her section @ http://www.edreams.es/edreams/espanol/dreamguides/dreampage_english.jhtml?GUIDEID=16516 )

I can tell you, however, that it is really very difficult to find LEGAL work in Spain with their struggling economy. People tell me stories about how they worked for months/years in Spain, all the while getting paid under the table and not having a work permit/visa. I don't recommend this because if you're caught you are deported and banned from the country for 10 years. Can you imagine MadridMan being BANNED FROM SPAIN??It would kill me.