Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#38385 - 03/18/03 03:07 PM Madrid: Carrying a Purse
Serena Offline

Loc: Florida
I've been reading all the posts in here and it's making me a little worried... well maybe that's a good thing because now I will be more AWARE.
I normally carry a coach purse on my shoulder that hangs just below my arm and close to my body. Is it a good idea to leave that purse here in the states and carry something more inexpensive with me while I'm studying abroad in Madrid? I got one of those waist pouches but they look like a real PAIN.

#38386 - 03/18/03 05:14 PM Re: Madrid: Carrying a Purse
sel Offline

Loc: Columbus, Ohio
Fanny packs are bad and purses are a no-no. I have a small kidney shaped travel pack which I carry if I have to, but I try to just use pockets. The bag is for maps, candy and kleenex. If I have to have all my valuables with me, I wear a security belt or use security pockets. I sewed little loops in my pants and shorts so I can attach the security pockets without them being seen.

Sometimes, you have to show your passport when you are buying things so i always keep it with me.

#38387 - 03/18/03 10:12 PM Re: Madrid: Carrying a Purse
Melinda328 Offline

Loc: Madrid
When I was studying in Sevilla I bought a purse from the street fair in Plaza Duque that closes with a drawstring and ties shut. The straps can either come out to be 2 straps or be one long one. I was almost mugged once, but I had the straps tied around my wrist 3 times and they didn't get it from me. not that it would have mattered because all that was in it were 3 euros and a cheap cell phone. But that bag was really worth my 5 euros and there's no way into it short of cutting it (which I'm well aware happens - but they can cut your pocket just as easily).

Melinda

#38388 - 03/20/03 03:48 PM Re: Madrid: Carrying a Purse
Serena Offline

Thanks for the tips... I'm gonna leave the purse behind smile