Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#38174 - 11/11/02 09:36 AM Theft in hostel rooms?
vivaciousgirl Offline

Loc: UK
Hola! This is an awesome website and message board!

My friend and I are going to Madrid and Barcelona over Christmas and New Years. She is a working professional and has more money to spend than me; I am a student.

I would like to stay at one of the great but inexpensive hostels mentioned on this website. She is concerned that our belongings may be stolen and wants to stay at a hotel. She thinks that hotels are more secure/safer.

Does anyone have any comments and/or facts regarding the distinctions between a "hotel" and a "hostel"? (Hostels on this website mention private rooms, two beds, and private bathroom).

Please advise. Muchas gracias! smile

#38175 - 11/11/02 10:42 AM Re: Theft in hostel rooms?
Shazz Offline

Loc: Philadelphia/PA USA
I've travelled thoroughly throughout Europe and the Middle East, and found that Hostels are more fun, better placed and cheaper than hotels. Use your common sense at the Hostel, ie lock your private room. Never leave your passport or cash at your hostel- always carry it on you in a money belt. Beware of gypsies & Young boys and girls in the city. They're usually professional thieves. Don't carry a hanging pocketbook. Use a daypack. Be smart. The body language is completely different outside of the USA which makes it harder to read. Beware of men who say "NO Problem" Write addresses down on paper so you can easily show it to taxi drivers or locals. Use the language, it will get you better access to the city's offerings. Hope this helps.

#38176 - 11/11/02 02:30 PM Re: Theft in hostel rooms?
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...