Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#31224 - 08/12/04 03:51 AM Re: Tortilla de Espana (Tontos de Abril)
mencey Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Omaha, Nebraska
That is how I make thewm as well, however, I do not completely "fry" them, I like them soft, so I really sautee them until they are soft, yet cooked, I love it with red pimiento as well. I'm sure many of us have a variation of the tortilla. Maybe we could get some of those ideas on this thread? mmmmmm...
Please pass the alioli.

#31225 - 08/12/04 04:50 AM Re: Tortilla de Espana (Tontos de Abril)
spanishl Offline

Loc: Madrid
I remember when I was a foreign exchange student in Rockford IL in 1992 when we once got together to cook tipical dishes in a party and I chose to cook "tortilla española" . We were a bunch of students from all over the world and the japaneses where taking lots of picture when I was flipping the tortilla over (which could either turn into a mess or come out successfully). It was pretty funny...

#31226 - 08/12/04 05:59 AM Re: Tortilla de Espana (Tontos de Abril)
Eddie Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Phila., PA, USA
I love Tortilla de patata (con cebollas). When I fly to Spain I take a small one to eat in the airport's departure area (because the flights take off pretty late and they don't serve a meal until about 10:00 PM). It drives the people around me 'bananas!' eek

Sunday for brunch I had a Chorizo omelette. The Chorizo was picante and the omelette was great. Next time, I will have it 'open faced' w/peppers and onions and call it a quiche. cool

#31227 - 08/12/04 07:18 AM Re: Tortilla de Espana (Tontos de Abril)
spanishl Offline

sounds pretty good eddie, I am getting hungry (it is about "comida" time here in Madrid)

I was wondering what the meaning of "Tontos de Abril" was, do you mean April´s fools day?. If that is the case, In Spain is called: "dia de los inocentes" and it is celebrated the 28th of December.