Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#30944 - 01/11/04 01:12 AM Re: Madrid:Dining out inexpensively..
Mongo Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
My personal habit is to have a formal lunch and tapas for dinner. This seems to be the pattern of most of the Madrileños I know.

I have found it rare to see a 'menu del dia' at a 'normal' restaursant for more than 10 or 11 euros (including wine). Try The Alhambra on c/ Victoria (the best cook in the neighborhood) or anything on c/ Ventura de la Vega, particularly Marina Ventura where they have the best rice (paella) in Madrid! My favorite is El Ingenioso on c/ Leganitos across from the Hotel Colosos. Their 'entrecot de Gallego cebon' (steak grilled at the table) is the best I have ever had and their service is great!

I cook for a living and spend 6 weeks a year in Madrid so this advice is not given lightly!

#30945 - 01/11/04 08:07 AM Re: Madrid:Dining out inexpensively..
Anonymous
Unregistered

About lunch, you can find menu del dia for less of 10€ easily unless you're very downtown. In neighbourhoods (and if you really look, downtown), you can find good menus del dia for 7 or 8 euros. 9 should be even a bit too much, for someone who takes a look around before selecting bar/restaurant. smile

We spanish use to have dinner at home, unless we re having fun in a weekend, and then have tapas, or that it is a weekday but we make an appointment for some cañas.

There is not such thing as a menu del dia for night purposes except in Chinese restaurants, but there is "platos combinados" which is a very good alternative (a big dish with meat or fish or/and ommelette or burger, plus fried potatoes or small salad, ...) that is usually about 4,5 to 6 euros. If you want beer and a dessert, however, that'll be extra. Beer would be around 1,2 €, dessert is expensive: 2 to 3 €.

#30946 - 01/13/04 02:28 PM Re: Madrid:Dining out inexpensively..