Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#24354 - 11/26/05 10:34 PM Who loves Valencia
frog Offline

Loc: paris
I fell in Love with Valencia in 2000 and return there about every 3 months. I would like some feedback from other people who ahve been to valencia and who appreciate it.

#24355 - 11/28/05 09:03 AM Re: Who loves Valencia
LouW Offline

Loc: Washington, DC
I studied at the Universitat de València in the fall of 1987 (through the University of Virginia’s program there). It was my first experience in Spain and I loved it too. I returned in 2000 found that the 1990s had been good to the city. It was in much better shape and there had been loads of new construction. For example, in 1987, only portions of the park in the Turia River bed were finished and the IVAM had not been built. Thankfully, it appears that the historic areas of the city were preserved. One of my classes was art history. I was pretty cool to be living in the midst of what I was studying.

I lived with a Spanish family that treated me like a son even though I was merely a boarder. We lived on Calle Jativa (Xativa) across the street from the Estacio del Nord and the bull ring. From the building's rooftop terrace we had an absolutely stunning view of the city. In the evenings, my classmates & I would generally hang out in the Canovas area, drink cheap beer and enjoy tapas. Nightlife was a big departure from home. I did my best, but I never had the stamina to party until sunrise. I remember dancing in a club situated in an old gothic building -- it must have been around 600-700 years old -- the music and interior decor were much more modern though.