Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#10217 - 12/15/00 01:42 PM Madrid-Sevilla-Lisbon-Madrid
juniperchick Offline

Loc: Singapore
I'm new to this and need some help with my itinerary.

1. I'm planning to travel from Madrid to Sevilla by AVE on 1 Jan 2001. Is it possible to get tickets and seats when I arrive in Madrid on 28 Dec 2000? Would it be cheaper to buy a return ticket?

2. What's the best option to get from Madrid to Lisbon - overnight train or flight? Which is cheaper?

3. Would it be better to buy a Eurorail/Europass ticket? And if so, which is better? I have only 11 days of holiday in total.

#10218 - 12/15/00 02:39 PM Re: Madrid-Sevilla-Lisbon-Madrid
Eddie Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Phila., PA, USA
There's a Renfe (Spanish Rail) office in the airport. It's in Terminal #1 about 75m from the International Arrivals Hall (on your right, just past the escalators). You can buy your ticket and/or reservation for any AVE (or Triana) train there. If you don't have a railpass and if you are planning to come back to Madrid from Sevilla rather than going direct from Sevilla to Lisbon, it will save you some to buy a roundtrip ticket. In that case I would advise you to buy your ticket at Madrid's Puerta de Atocha. I had a personal experience: After I specifically asked for 'Ida y Vuelta,' the Agent at the Barajas airport Renfe Office issued us full price 1-way tickets rather than return trip ticket (which should have given us a 20% discount). After she had 'run' my Visa card I asked why we didn't get the discount. She just shrugged and replied that she doesn't make the prices, the computer does. It was a 'rip off.' At Atocha, they give you any applicable discount automatically. The last time I checked (Sep. 18), the same lady was there in the Barajas Renfe Office as ticket Agent.