USA: Where to buy queso manchego?

Posted by: carole-wis

USA: Where to buy queso manchego? - 05/04/04 06:44 PM

Can anyone recommend a good place to get queso manchego to bring back to the US? Are there different kinds, brands? I was in Madrid in October and one night had the best chesse sandwich I'd ever had (and I'm from Wisconsin!!) and they told me it was made from queso manchego. I'm going back next month and would like to bring some back for my family. Gracias.
Posted by: MadridMan

Re: USA: Where to buy queso manchego? - 05/04/04 09:15 PM

In the USA, Sam's Club carries it for sure. I've also found it in at my local "gourmet market" ( Weiland\'s & North Market ) but expect to pay pay pay. It's quite expensive so prepare yourself.

While I'm no expert on Manchego, I don't think there are many (if any) different varieties of Manchego cheese. I think Manchego is Manchego is Manchego. As for brands, I doubt there are many of them and am confident that they're all good. I believe you can buy it through www.Tienda.com on the web as well as on www.LaEspanolaMeats.com .

Good luck and enjoy! Saludos, MadridMan
Posted by: deibid

Re: USA: Where to buy queso manchego? - 05/05/04 03:24 AM

There are a few kinds of Manchego, it all depends on the strenght of its taste:
-Tierno: soft and young cheese (soso, for me)
-Semi-Curado: average strenght
-Curado, viejo: the best,I'm sure that THIS is the one you enjoyed.
Posted by: La Sorpresa

Re: USA: Where to buy queso manchego? - 05/05/04 08:17 AM

Also, check Costco and your local grocery store in the 'fancy cheese' section. You know the one...all kinds of cheeses at no less than $10/lb. laugh
Posted by: amycynthia

Re: USA: Where to buy queso manchego? - 05/05/04 03:17 PM

They also sell queso manchego in some Publix stores in the U.S.
Posted by: megia

Re: USA: Where to buy queso manchego? - 05/05/04 08:26 PM

Hello,