Hostal Josefina in Madrid

Posted by: VannieNY

Hostal Josefina in Madrid - 12/31/04 12:20 PM

Hi,
i'm new to the BB but i have been seaarching for days and checking out all the hostels. I'm taveling to Madrid on 9/3/2005 and i'll be leaving on 9/12/2005. this is my first time traveling to Spain but i've been dying to go since i was a little girl. i finally decided to do one city at a time and get to know most of the area instead of trying to go all over the place

anyway i did a search and found no topics on this hostel, Hostal Josefina (web: http://www.hostal-josefina.com/ ) . has anyone ever stayed there? i emailed them and i am tentatively booked, i have to call a day ahead just to reconfirm and they didn't ask for a credit card or anything. their address is:
Gran Via, 44, 7ª Planta
28013 MADRID, ESPAÑA

is this a good location for all the sites etc? i haven't even figured out all that i'll do but i definitely want to see all the sights. thanks for any help/advice! happy new year!
laugh
Posted by: JoeSambuca

Re: Hostal Josefina in Madrid - 12/31/04 02:23 PM

Gran Via is pretty central but you may want to try Hostal Dulcinea on calle Cervantes ( www.hostaldulcinea.com ). Jose & Maria who run the joint are classy cool people, nice as hell.
It's close to the prado, Reina sofia museum, the main train station if you want to take day trips and just minutes walking to Plaza Mayor and Puerta Del Sol. For partying purposes, Santa Ana is near and you can practically sleep walk to calle huertas where all the crazy bars are. The best part about Hostal Dulcinea...it's a great bargin.
Good Luck.
Posted by: Quevedo

Re: Hostal Josefina in Madrid - 12/31/04 10:29 PM

Vannie, I have also stayed at the Hostal Dulcinea and agree completely with JoeSambuca. I will also say that you are not in a bad location on Gran Via if you like lots of people and the feel of being on a major blvd. I have a feeling that you are going to get a few recommendations with this post!