Hotel in Granada?

Posted by: Tex-Mex

Hotel in Granada? - 11/09/02 05:48 PM

Hello, can anyone reccomend a safe and nice Hotel in Granada near the Alambra. I will be there in two weeks. How safe is Granada? I hear people are not very friendly in this town.
Posted by: kelar419

Re: Hotel in Granada? - 11/09/02 06:22 PM

Not very friendly frown ?? Can anybody who knows the town well comment on that? I am studying at La Universidad de Granada next semester. I have not been to the south of spain yet.....but I have been told that the people in general (of course there are always exceptions), are very warm and friendly. confused
Posted by: liz49

Re: Hotel in Granada? - 11/10/02 08:41 AM

My suggestion for a place to stay in Granada is the Hotel Macia (a search will probably reveal threads with other positive commentaries on this place). It's clean, friendly, serves breakfast in the morning, and if you're lucky your room might have a view of the Alhambra (the front-facing ones do). It's not technically "near the Alhambra" since it lies at the bottom of the hill leading up to the palace--on the Plaza Nueva. There is, however,a cheap local bus that you can catch across the street from the hotel that will carry you up the hill. The advantage of staying at the bottom of the hill, from my perspective, is that you have access to a greater variety of places to eat, things to do, other things to see (e.g. the Royal Chapel in the cathedral)than you do staying on the hillside. It's also easier to make a trip up into the Albaicin from here.

As to friendliness, we had a very positive experience in Granada. Ate at several places with very friendly and helpful service. The people at the tourist office were also very nice.
Posted by: MATADOR

Re: Hotel in Granada? - 11/10/02 10:03 AM