Madrid: In need of young tour guide/friend

Posted by: Callie

Madrid: In need of young tour guide/friend - 07/31/14 07:07 PM

I am in need of a reliable contact while I am in Madrid! I am an American student who is planning on relocating there for a few months..would love somebody relatively young to show me around!
Posted by: MadridMan

Re: Madrid: In need of young tour guide/friend - 08/01/14 04:21 AM

If you have questions about Madrid, its places, transportation or lodging, here would be a great place to ask to consult the experiences of (potentially) hundreds of persons (fewer during these summer holidays, of course).

When do you expect to be in Madrid?

Saludos, MadridMan
Posted by: judgeirish

Re: Madrid: In need of young tour guide/friend - 01/28/15 08:05 AM

My family and I recently had a miserable experience with Mr. Stephen Drake-Jones of the Wellington Society. We engaged his services to provide us with a walking "Hemingway tour" of Madrid on the evening of January 3, 2015.

We paid him in advance, and he electronically replied that he had written down the engagement in his calendar book. Two of us were literature majors and particular Hemingway fans. We eagerly looked forward to this event as one of the highlights of our trip to Spain.

On Saturday night, January 3, 2015, we waited at the appointed place at the appointed time for Mr. Drake-Jones to appear. As the minutes ticked by and he did not, we emailed him, left a voice mail for him and attempted to text him. After nearly an hour, we realized we were being stood up, and we had to retool our last evening in Madrid.