Spanish Citizenship

Posted by: paxaran

Spanish Citizenship - 07/23/01 12:58 PM

My mother is from Spain, but I grew up in New York City my whole life. For a long time I have been looking into dual natioanlity status and with the recent end to manditory military service in Spain, it seems I might be eligable. Problem is I cannot find any worth while info on this subject. Any leads from anyone would be very helpful. PS: the Spanish Consulate is worthless unless you know the answers already. Thanks, Robert
Posted by: Majesty318

Re: Spanish Citizenship - 07/23/01 08:48 PM

I think it depends on whether your mother still has her citizenship. I am not an expert but a friend of mine has a father from Spain who still is a Spanish citizen. She and her sister therefore have both Spanish and American citizenship. I am not positive, though, if that is the only rule.

Re: Spanish Citizenship - 07/24/01 10:58 AM

Thanks. But I think it was easier for your friends because women did not need to serve in the Spanish military. Until last year, it was mandatory for men. So may have been eligible when I was younger, but if I served in a foreign (to the United States) military, I would have lost US national status. So the real question is, now that I am 28 and there is no longer any mandatory military service, can one become a dual national with Spain. Hmmm. I see red tape ahead.
Posted by: Miguelito

Re: Spanish Citizenship - 07/25/01 06:10 AM

You don't have to do the militar service you can do the social service instead, have you think about that. I think that in some cases of double nacionality you can avoid the Spanish militar service, you should review in which cases you avoid the Spanish militar service
Posted by: Diana

Re: Spanish Citizenship - 08/17/01 10:43 AM