[this thread was copied/moved to this forum and given its current subject line at "colleen"'s request. the original thread will remain in the "About Spain" forum]

colleen
Junior Member posted 07-17-2000 04:07 AM
---------------------------------------------
Dear Rafael,
I'm also new to MadridMan's site and I think it's wonderful! I live in Los Angeles and would like to move to Madrid or another major city in Spain with my 8 year old son in the summer of 2001.

My priority: education for my boy. Our goal is to immerse ourselves in the Spanish language and culture! I understand basic conversational Spanish and am learning more. Mi hijo loves the language and is an eager beginner.

I've searched the Web and gotten lots of information about the private English-speaking schools in Spain. I don't believe I want to put Ryan in one of those schools.

My question to you is: how do I find out which escuelas publicos are the best in the Madrid area?

For example, my boy currently just finished 3rd grade in a public school in Los Angeles. Most of the L.A. School Distric schools are, unfortunately, not very good.

The primary reasons for the poor performance of the public elementary schools here in L.A. are: 1) the fact that L.A. has so many recent immigrants from so many countries. We haven't yet figured out the best way to bring these bright, beautiful kids into the mainstream of U.S. education, and 2) California doesn't spend enough MONEY on primary school education. That situation is expected to improve due to California's improving economy and more money targeted for public schools.

I didn't mean to ramble on. But my point is that my boy is getting a GREAT education in an L.A. public school BECAUSE IT'S IN AN AFFLUENT NEIGHBORHOOD with parents who value an excellent education and contribute lots of time and money to the school.

My question to you, dear new friend, is: How do I find such a public school in the Madrid area???