Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#39237 - 08/13/04 06:35 PM Medical travel insurance: necessary?
Mar Offline

Loc: chicago/bcn
Any good comprehensive policies (medical)? Would appreciate your advice. Also how do the clinics work? Do they take kindly to travelers?

#39238 - 08/16/04 12:01 PM Re: Medical travel insurance: necessary?
Fernando Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain
Well, I'm not an expert on how clinics and hospitals deal with tourists and foreigners but I would say that it is highly recommendable to have a travel insurance, just in case.

Anyway, as far as I know, our Public Health System would take care of you in any case, though they might charge your medical insurance after caring for you.

Fernando

#39239 - 08/16/04 03:52 PM Re: Medical travel insurance: necessary?
Diana Offline

Loc: Pennsylvania, USA
I travel a lot and I now always get comprehensive travel insurance. Thankfully I have not had to use it, but my parents have in a big way, and if they didn't have medical coverage they would be short many thousands of dollars.

A good place to shop for travel insurance is http://www.insuremytrip.com/

I've noticed, though, that it's a good idea to visit the web pages of the individual companies, because insuremytrip doesn't always have all the available policies. Still, it's a good place to start with comparisons.

I've been getting TravelGuard's Protect Assist coverage. It's one of the few that covers everything, including medical and trip cancellation/interruption when due to terrorism. It's expensive, though.

As for the clinics in Spain, my experiences during the 13 years I lived there were almost all positive - and with two kids, I went often! My opinion of health services in Spain is very high. I wouldn't hesitate to get medical help there whenever necessary.

#39240 - 08/17/04 11:36 AM Re: Medical travel insurance: necessary?
Booklady Offline
Executive Member

Loc: U.S.A.